Joe Strub Award

The award is presented annually to an individual or group that
“has contributed most to the mission requirements of the National Weather Service
in protecting the citizens from the damaging effects of severe weather.”

Dave Purscell receiveing the award from Todd Krause (NWS).

Award Citation

Steele County Skywarn members work year round to make the program better so when they are called they can safely and effectively provide spotters for severe weather in the county. The group takes their role seriously supporting Preparedness through monthly training and by sharing their knowledge with the community through awareness and public education about Severe Weather preparedness at home, work and other areas; as well as working with the community to evaluate severe weather shelter areas and by providing 240 grant funded NOAA all hazard weather radios to special populated areas at risk in our community such as day cares and schools. Skywarn not only provided the radios but ensured they were properly programmed and that users understood what to do when alerted.

Steele County Skywarn’s professionalism and dedication to the community reflects great credit upon themselves, Steele County, and the state of Minnesota; for this the Association of Minnesota Emergency Managers confers onto the Steele County Skywarn the Joe Strub Memorial Award on this day the Sixteenth of September in the year of our Lord Two Thousand and Fourteen.

Copyright 2014
Steele County SKYWARN
Owatonna, MN All Rights Reserved